Contact Us

Location Map

View SAU in a larger map
  1. (required)
  2. (required)
  3. (required)
  4. (required)
    Enter the text contained in the image into the text box:
    If your CAPTCHA image does not appear within five seconds, please hit the refresh button on your browser.Captcha is case sensitive!
  5. (required)



(Bye-law relating to the grievance redressal mechanism for students as approved by the Executive Council in its meeting held on 19.07.2012)


1. That all issues within the University community should be resolved through discussions and negotiations and through the Grievance Redressal Mechanism and that the use of violence, intimidation and coercive methods such as gheraos and dharnas or any other activity which disrupts the normal academic or administrative functioning of the University inside the University buildings, and locking out of the University buildings shall not be resorted to.


2. That all members of the University community have the right to privacy and that residential area of the teachers and staff shall in no case be used as venues of protests and agitations.

3. A student or a group of students who have grievance, should first approach the heads of the concerned departments. These could be Senior warden for hostel related issues, Deans of Faculties for academic issues, Deans of Students for issues related to students cultural or sports activities, Librarian for issues related to library, Director Finance for issues related to the working of the Finance Branch. It is expected in most cases, the grievance is resolved to the satisfaction of the students. Grievances should be submitted to the appropriate body within a reasonable time.

4. If the grievance cannot be resolved at the level of Heads of Departments, the student/students may approach the Standing Committee for Redressal of Grievance (SCORG) for the redressal of grievance.

5. SCORG will be a three member committee that shall be nominated for the period of two years by the President, at least one of the members of SCORG should be a woman faculty member and as far as possible, all members should be from different SAARC countries. SCORG will formulate its own procedure for making enquires and framing its recommendations that will be forwarded to the President.

6. The SCORG should try to resolve the grievance as speedily as possible but in no case later than 4 weeksfrom the date the complaint is lodged in writing to the Committee.

7. The decision of the SCORG shall be final and binding.


In terms of the Bye-laws relating to the Grievance Redressal Mechanism for Students, a Standing Committee for Redressal of Grievances of Students (SCORGS) that had been constituted vide Notification No. SAU/4-6/2018-Not./R/2123 dated 16th August, 2018, has been reconstituted by the President.


General Instructions for Registration by Foreigners


All foreigners (including foreigners of Indian origin) visiting India on long term (more than 180 days) are required to get themselves registered with the Foreigners Regional Registration Officer (FRRO)/ Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) concerned having jurisdiction over the place where the foreigner intends to stay, within 14 days of arrival. 


The registration process is online through e-FRRO.


Afghan Nationals


All Afghan nationals are required to register with the FRRO/FRO concerned within 14 days of arrival except those Afghan nationals who enter India on a visa valid for 30 days or less provided the Afghan national concerned gives his/her local address in India to the Indian Mission/FRRO/FRO.


The Afghan nationals who are issued visas with "Exemption from police reporting" are exempt from Police reporting as well as Exit permission provided they leave within the Visa validity period.


Pakistani Nationals


Pakistani Nationals are required to register at the check post of entry into India.


They must hand over one copy of VISA application form given to them by the Indian Mission Abroad while granting visa to the immigration authorities at the check post of entry, who will hand over the Residential Permit with him/her to each place of stay for the purpose of police reporting.


This Residential Permit must be surrendered to the Immigration Authorities at the check post of exit at the time of departure.


Further, except those who are granted visa with the endorsement "Exempted from Police Reporting" (EPR Visa), Pak nationals entering India on a police reporting Visa(PRV) must also report their arrival and intended departure at each place of stay as pemitted in the visa within 24 hours at the nearest police station. Pakistani nationals may report to the following address for registration.


Special Branch, 
Police Bhawan, 
Asaf Ali Road, 


FRRO Registration For SAU Students


APPLICABLE TO- All foreign students from the following countries- AFGHANISTAN, BANGLADESH, MALDIVES, SRILANKA. Students from PAKISTAN will coordinate with the Hostel Caretaker for Police reporting with in 24 hours of their arrival, at Special Branch, Police Bhawan, Asaf Ali Road, Delhi





NEW DELHI 110066

Telephone: 26711443

Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




STEP 1 – Students to provide all the Visa & Passport details and get the Unique ID generated from Room No. 217 through ICT Section, SAU.


STEP 2 – Create the user ID/ password by registering online on the FRRO portal Get the Bonafide certificate issued from room No 410 through Mr. Yogamber.


The entire process of FRRO registration including other FRRO services viz. Visa extension, Return visa, Exit permit etc are online without having to visit the FRRO until unless there is an emergency. For details please see this document on e-FRRO.


The following documents are required to be uploaded for FRRO registration


Passport , Visa, Bonafide certificate and Photograph to be scanned and uploaded.


The University will assist the students first time. Subsequent visa renewal, and other desired visa services shall be done by students themselves. University will issue the required documents.

Recognition of Degrees Awarded by the South Asian University

The South Asian University (SAU) was established jointly by the eight SAARC Member States (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Indian, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka). An agreement for the establishment of SAU was signed on 4th April 2007 by the Ministers of External Affairs of all Members States. This agreement can be viewed here.

Article 7 of this Agreement specifically states the following:

This Agreement shall facilitate the mutual recognition of degrees and certificates awarded by the University in all SAARC Member States at par with the degrees and certificates issued by their respective national universities/institutions.

Besides the above overarching Article 7 of the Agreement, each individual Member State has also conveyed their recognition of SAU degrees.

The letter from the UGC of India conveying recognition of SAU's degrees can be seen here.

It should, however, be noted that no country recognizes degrees awarded by individual universities in another country. If the degrees of a given university are recognized by the UGC (or the equivalent bodies like HEC) of the country where the university is located, the degrees are also recognized by universities around the Globe. SAU is located in India and Indian UGC recognizes the degrees awarded by the SAU.


^ Back to Top