SAU Awarding Its First Set of PhD Degrees

176 Young Minds of South Asia Graduating at the Third SAU Convocation

New Delhi: South Asian University is conducting its third convocation at the Pravasi Bhartiya Kendra, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi on Thursday, 7 June 2018. The convocation will be presided over by Mr. Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, Minister of Education, Science and Technology of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal as the Visitor’s Nominee. Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, President, ICCR and Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha will be the Chief Guest. The Secretary General of SAARC Mr. Amjad Hussain B Sial will also be present at the event along with other members of SAU’s statutory bodies from around the South Asian region.

A total of 176 students will be conferred Masters, MPhil and PhD Degrees in various programmes that include Applied Mathematics, Biotechnology, Computer Science, Economics, International Relations, Legal Studies and Sociology. 7 programme toppers will be honoured with the SAU Gold Medal. Students from the entire South Asia region will be present at the convocation. Out of the total number of graduates, 21 are from Afghanistan, 17 from Bangladesh, 5 from Bhutan, 11 from Nepal, 5 from Pakistan and one from Sri Lanka and France while the rest 99 are from India. 10 students will get their MPhil Degrees – two from Nepal, one from Bangladesh and 7 from India. For the first time since its inception, South Asian University will be handing out PhD Degrees to 6 of its scholars - one each from Afghanistan and Bangladesh and 4 from India.

Mandated to inculcate a sense of regional consciousness among the young minds of the South Asia region while imparting cutting-edge knowledge, South Asian University was established by the governments of the eight SAARC nations. The university took off in 2010 with two Masters Degree Programmes. Today, SAU offers seven Masters and an equal number of Doctoral Programmes.

The construction of the permanent campus of the South Asian University is going on in Maidan Garhi in New Delhi.


About South Asian University:

South Asian University (SAU) is an international university established, funded and maintained by the governments of the eight member nations of South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC) viz. Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. SAU started its operations from the academic year 2010. The university now offers Masters and MPhil/PhD research programs in seven disciplines that include Economics, Computer Science, Biotechnology, Applied Mathematics, Sociology, International Relations and Legal Studies. SAU attracts students from all over South Asia, and its degrees are recognized by all the eight SAARC countries. Many of its graduates have already found employment in the region and some have been offered higher education opportunities in countries beyond South Asia as well.

The university is currently functioning from Akbar Bhawan, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi and construction of the permanent campus has started over a 100 acre plot in Maidan Garhi, South Delhi in late May 2016.

For further details, please write to Mr. Prahlad, Public Relations Officer, SAU at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call him at +91 9871494338


^ Back to Top